Home > JSA > Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission

Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission (Related Organizations)

The Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission (NNSC) was established to monitor the South’s and the North’s compliance with the Korean Armistice Agreement as well as to prevent unnecessary conflicts between them. Until Czech Slovakia and Poland (the neutral nations nominated by the communist side) withdrew, the officers appointed by four neutral nations performed that function.

The NNSC was organized based on the Korean Armistice Agreement and it originally consisted of four nations. They were Swiss and Sweden designated by the United Nations Command and Czech Slovakia and Poland, who were communist countries back then, designated by the communist North Korea. As of today, only the officers from Sweden and Swiss, the two countries designated by the United Nations Command, are performing the role of the NNSC.